About Us




Become active member of the New York chapter of SWANA. Your membership and participation will help your community shape a cleaner & renewable future.



More Reasons to join SWANA

  • Network of over 8,000 solid waste professionals
  • Accessible information via online training, publications and proceedings
  • A Member's Only eLibrary


Plan on attending a SWANA sponsored event soon. Grow your knowledge as you grow your career!



Board of Directors - New York State SWANA Chapter



The Board has adopted a policy for prospective candidates to become familiar with and transition onto the Board. Interested individuals will have to work on a committee and attend the Annual Meeting of Members. After progressing to committee leadership, they can become eligible to fill an available vacancy on the Board. The Directors are elected at the Annual Meeting of members or appointed by the Directors.


The New York Chapter of the Solid Waste Association of North America, Inc. has amended it's By-Laws in OCtober of 2015.


Bruce Howie, President
Vice President/International Director
HDR, Inc
711 Westchester Avenue
White Plains, NY 10604
bruce.howie @hdrinc.com
(914)993-20625
Louis Vetrone Vice President
Westchester County Dept. of Env. Facilities
270 North Ave
New Rochelle, NY 10801
ljv3@westchestergov.com
(914)813-5429
Debra Smith, Secretary
Broome County Division of Solid Waste
60 Hawley Street
Binghamton, NY 13902
debsmith@co.broome.ny.us
(607)778-2397 fax: (607) 778-6051
Theodore S. Pytlar, Jr, Treasurer.
Dvirka & Bartilucci Engineers
330 Crossways Park Drive
Woodbury, NY 11797
TPytlar@db-eng.com
(516)364-9890 fax (516)364-9045
Carla Jordan
Ontario County Planning
Canandaigua, NY 14424
Carla.jordan@co.ontario.ny.us
585-396-4457
Mark A. Swyka,P.E. Past President
Cornerstone Environmental Group, LLC
100 Crystal Run Road, Suite 101
Middletown, New York 10941
Mark.Swyka@Cornerstoneeg.com
(845)695-0208 Fax: (845)692-5894
Robert Matarazzo
Arcadis
Robert.Matarazzo@arcadis.com
(914) 641-2790


Russell P. Rutkowski, PE
Monroe County
50 W. Main St Suite 710
Rochester, NY 14614-1218
RRutkowski@Monroecounty.gov
(585)753-7515 fax: (585)324-1207
Marty Bellew
Retired
martinbellew@gmail.com
(914)804-4967



Luann Meyer
Barton & Loguidice, P.C.
11 Centre Park Suite 203
Rochester, NY 14614
lmeyer@bartonandloguidice.com
(585) 325-7190 ext. 2219

SWANA Committees

  • Scholarship -Martin Bellew, Retired
  • Membership - Debra Smith - Broome County
  • Nomination - Robert Matarazzo- Arcadis
  • Seminars -Ted Pytlar, Dvirka & Bartilucci Engineers
  • Newsletter - Debra Smith - Broome County
Louise Bruce
NY Dept. of Sanitation
New York, NY 10013
lbruce@dsny.nyc.gov
646-885-4928