Questions? Call Us: 1-607-778-2397



Become a member today! Take advantage of all the professional benefits that the leading National Solid Waste organization has to offer.

The Board has adopted a policy for prospective candidates to become familiar with and transition onto the Board. Interested individuals will have to work on a committee and attend the Annual Meeting of Members. After progressing to committee leadership, they can become eligible to fill an available vacancy on the Board. The Directors are elected at the Annual Meeting of members or appointed by the Directors.

The New York Chapter of the Solid Waste Association of North America, Inc. has amended it’s By-Laws in October of 2015.

Bruce Howie, Past President
HDR, Inc
711 Westchester Avenue
White Plains, NY 10604
(914) 993-2062
Louis Vetrone, President
Westchester County Dept. of
Env. Facilities
270 North Ave
New Rochelle, NY 10801
(914) 813-5429
Debra Smith, Secretary
Broome County Division of Solid Waste
60 Hawley Street
Binghamton, NY 13902
Fax: (607)  778-6051
Joseph Krupa,

44 South Broadway, White Plains, NY 10601
(914) 641-2923
 Carla Jordan
Ontario County Planning
20 Ontario St.
Canandaigua, NY 14424
(585) 396-4457
 Mark A. Swyka,P.E.
Cornerstone Environmental Group, LLC
100 Crystal Run Road, Suite 101
Middletown, New York 10941
(845) 695-0208
Fax: (845) 692-5894
Robert Matarazzo
(914) 641-2790
Russell P. Rutkowski, PE
(585) 509-2888
Marty Bellew
(914) 804-4967
Luann Meyer, Vice President
Monroe County Dept. of Env. Services 
50 West Main Street
Rochester, NY 14614
(585) 753-7608
Jeff Martirano, P.E.
HDR, Inc
711 Westchester Avenue
White Plains, NY 10604
Molly Brennan
NYC Department of Sanitation
125 Worth Street
New York, NY 10013
(646) 885-5008

Annual Meeting Minutes

Every year at the NYFederation conference in the Sagamore, the New York Chapter of SWANA conducts it’s annual business meeting.

Annual meeting minutes:

  • Scholarship – Martin Bellew – Retired
  • Membership – Carla Jordan – Ontario County
  • Nomination – Robert Matarazzo- Arcadis
  • Safety – Ken Levine – Action Carting
  • Seminars – Ted Pytlar, D&B Engineers & Architects
  • Newsletter – Debra Smith – Broome County
  • Young Professionals – Jeff Martirano – HDR, Inc.

Latest Articles